Wisdom from the craft store

Every once in a while I’ll meet someone that becomes an unexpected source of wisdom for me.

I have been going to a certain craft store for years and for most of that time she has been my cashier.    Of course we always exchanged the usual “How are you doing today?” ‘ s.   Every so often we’d talk a little more.  For example,   she shared with me that she has a new grandson.   She is so proud of her family.   One time,  she shared that she had been able to pay down a bunch of debt.   She wasn’t bragging,  she was just sayin’.

One day,  several months ago,  I stopped by to kill some time before meeting my husband for lunch.   And as usual,  I was limping along.    She and I had never talked about my MS or anything.   She wasn’t behind the counter that day and noticed my limping.    She called out to me to see how I was and asked about my leg.

Her name is Pamila and as I was explaining to her, she really listened.

I appreciated that but it was what she said to me that made a difference.   As we talked,  it became apparent that she is a Christian.   A strong Christian.

While we were talking, she asked me if I had given God my leg.  Now that is something I hadn’t considered before.  I’m a Christian but I had never thought to give my leg to God.    She wasn’t suggesting that I get a tattoo that said “God, this leg is yours!” or anything weird.    She was asking me if I had given my situation and my leg over to God for His use and for His Glory.

OK.   Its been hard to get those words out of my head.

I know that God can use any circumstance we find ourselves in for His purposes  But my leg?   This leg is a burden.  My MS has put me in a place where I don’t want to be.    I thought my life would be different than it is.   I have no idea exactly what my plans were but they weren’t this.   But this was in God’s plan.

An opportunity has come up for me and my husband to go on a mission trip with the youth group from our church.    I have been ‘on the fence’ about it since it came up.   It will involve a long bus ride and the kids will be doing some light construction.    There also might be an opportunity to work with Vacation Bible School.   I just don’t know how much use I will be to anyone.   I’m afraid I’ll get up there and have a flare – up like I did this past week.   That would be no fun.  I think its the fear of the unknown that makes me crazy and makes me want to stay home.

Well….  I had to go see what Pamila had to say.     She and I talked for a while (well,  not that long .. after all she was at work.)    She encouraged me to pray about the trip,  to pray over my leg and my MS.

She also mentioned that we “walk by faith, not by sight”.    I don’t know how it will be up there (its at the beach, so that’s cool) but I know that God will take care of me and my husband.    I just have to give my leg to Him.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under April 2012

Leave a Reply

