A High School Reunion, Of Sorts

My 30th high school reunion is coming up.

Yesterday was a weird day.   I guess it was my day to run into people I went to high school with.

Yesterday morning, I sort of ran into the guy who took me to the Senior prom.   I know that he and his family live nearby and I know that he has at least five kids.  I was going in to vote and he was coming out with some of his daughters.    I was feeling pretty good at that moment and said “Hi”.   He looked at me out of the corner of his eye and said “Hi”.    He was probably afraid.  I was a strange one at the end of my senior year.   He took me and my friend and her boyfriend ice skating after graduation.   I don’t remember much about that day except being scared that he was going to try to hold my hand.   I remember thinking he was a wimp because he was allergic to sesame seeds.  Anyway,  my friend took me into the ladies locker room at the skating rink and said ” ‘X’ thinks you don’t like him.”  I said “Why?”  She said “Because you won’t SKATE with him.”     Well,  I guess he got the message.   I never heard from him or for that matter,  my friend,  again.    She went off to college and wouldn’t return my phone calls.    I did get an invite to her wedding,  so there’s that.

Then later on in the day,  I ran into a person that made my senior year very hard (well, hell) for me.    I had run into him a few times since graduation.  (I know,  I know… its been 30 years)   Never once had he spoken to me.  Until yesterday.   Oh geez.   He jumped up and hugged me and started talking.  Introduced me to his wife and two boys.   While I stood there, dumbstruck, next to my husband (who happens to be the love of my life) , all of a sudden he was an old buddy, old pal.   The things he said (and did)  during my senior year hurt me very much.   If I had been smart and up front with my parents,  I could have transferred to public school.  But I didn’t.  I was determined that I would not be ‘run off’ from school.

While everything is ok now,  I still think about that time in my life with my 17 year old mind.   Like everyone is exactly like they were 30 years ago.   I expected him to be the person he was then.  And he’s not.  Heck,  I’m not the person I was 30 years ago.   (Thank goodness.)

He mentioned the 30 year reunion,  I still don’t know if I’ll go.   I swore the night I graduated that I would never, ever go back.  And I haven’t.

PS.   When I was pregnant with my son,  a girl I went to school with called to invite me to our 15th(??).  I told her forget it.   That I don’t know why they kept inviting me because I wasn’t going to be there.   Oh boy,  no wonder she won’t talk to me in the grocery store.   But I was hormonal.   Doesn’t that count for anything???

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

