Happy Anniversary, MS.

Seven years ago I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis.

Now that was a bad day.   But it was a good day too.   That’s the day I found out what the heck was wrong with me.    The journey to the diagnosis started almost on the same day (January 5) in 1998.  I had a doozy of a bout of optic neuritis in my right eye.   I’ve posted about all this before.  So I wont revisit those details.

Today has not been a good ‘word’ day.  I find myself searching for words when speaking with someone and I’m finding that I’m still searching for the right words as I’m writing this.

I guess I just wanted to acknowledge this anniversary to myself.   I wanted to think about the stuff we (my family and I)  have been through since then.

I have a list of about 12 things (including a heart attack for my husband and adult onset diabetes for me) that I could outline here.  I’m not going to do that.  I will say that I’ve been blessed.  I’ve been able to be home over the last 3 1/2 years and have seen my kids grow into their wonderful selves and I’ve seen true grit, love, perseverance and determination develop in my husband.  I’ve seen how strong he truly is.  Things have changed for the better between us.  And for that,  I wouldn’t change a thing.

I’m not thrilled to have MS but I know for sure: “… that all things work together for good to them that love God…”

 

4 Comments

Filed under January 2012

4 responses to “Happy Anniversary, MS.

  1. I was just diagnosed on January 4th this year. So relieved to finally have a diagnosis. Here’s to having good days!!!
    (http://onestepleadstoathousand.wordpress.com)

  2. Winter diagnosis appears to be common among us all. The lack of vitamin D we experience at that time of year is in direct correlation with exacerbations and this is one more example of that. February 2011 for me…

    • Oh! Did you just get diagnosed? I hope all goes well for you. Yes, i didn’t know about vitamin D at the time but its interesting that my diabetes doc started me on it along with calcium.

      • Last winter I was diagnosed. My vitamin D levels were extremely low. I now take 4000 IUs of D 3 daily. Two amazing resources you need to check out are Terry Wahls MD Minding your mitochondria on YouTube (there is a link on my blog) and Professor George Jelinek, Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis ( he has a website as well as a very good book ). They are informative and life changing. Visit my blog http://msguidedjourney.wordpress.com
        I wish you good health!

Leave a Reply

