Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

I haven’t posted in a long time.  Its like I haven’t had too much to say plus I’ve been busy with Christmas.

But I have been thinking about one of my new old favorite Christmas songs.    It’s John Lennon’s “So This Is Christmas”.  For so many years,  I.COULD.NOT.STAND.THAT.SONG.   But a few years ago,  I was watching a Christmas special on TV and some lady sang it and I could finally understand all the words.

I found the words to be beautiful.  Maybe I don’t have the meaning just right but when he sings “another year ovah, a new one just begun”, I used to feel sad but not anymore.

Wait a second… I just googled the lyrics and the subtitle is “The War Is Over”.   OK,  so the song isn’t about all I thought it was.  But the lyrics are still beautiful.   Maybe when he wrote it,  it was about war, but when I hear it I think about the hope of a new year.  And maybe we should examine the year that just past,  but we should look forward to the new year with a renewed sense of hope.

“A very merry Christmas
And a happy New Year
Let’s hope it’s a good one
Without any fear”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under December 2011

Leave a Reply

