The Waiting Game

Does anyone out there remember the ketchup commerical from the 70’s or 80’s,  where there is a close-up of the ketchup bottle and Carly Simon is singing “Anticipation” in the background?   Like the ketchup was so supposed to be so good ,  but it took forever to come out of the bottle?

Well, yesterday I had an ultrasound of the arteries in my abdomen and in both of my legs.    The technician was like “I don’t really see anything to worry about.  Of course,  I’m not a doctor.   The doctor will have to read the results and get back to you.  It could be sometime next week because it’ll take a day to read the results and dictate,  then a day for transcription,  blah blah blah.”

He was Mr.  Positive when all I really wanted to know was why my right leg was colder than my left.   And I wanted to know why it was discolored and why it feels “tight”,  even when its not swollen.  I wanted answers RIGHT THEN.

So my husband and I left,  feeling relieved and disappointed (because of the ‘no answer’ thing) at the same time.   Well,  we resigned ourselves to getting the results next week.

Of course,  today I get a phone call saying they have set up an appointment for me for next Monday.

Sorry, but the last time this kind of thing happened I found out that I had multiple sclerosis.

I know I’m in a tizzy about it and its probably nothing or something very small.    But now we have to go through the whole weekend thinking about it.

But I know Someone who knows the test results already.   Its not the vascular doctor  and its not Mr. Positive.    Psalm 27:14  “Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart..”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

