The Help

Well,  it seems I’m going to gain a new friend.   And apparently my attitude is going to have to improve before it arrives!   For a few days after the subject was brought up,  I think my expression must have looked like this.  (Except my hair is short and graying) :

To clarify,  I went to the neurologist the other day and he ordered an MRI plus physical therapy – where they are going to be working on the strength in my right leg.  To gain stability,  I will probably be getting one of these, although I don’t think that mine will look exactly like this:

 

My husband is my number 1 fan, my biggest supporter,  the best life coach anyone could ask for.   He helps me all the time.  He will also tell you that I have trouble accepting help.   I feel like I should be able to be the same as I always was.   I should be able to walk straight and fast.  I should have have the same energy level as everyone else.   I should be able to go to Target without feeling like my backside has been kicked.   Shoulda, woulda, coulda…..  I could go on and on and on.  I could do a whole post on what I think I should still be able to do.

But I’m not the same as I was.  I will not be that way again.  My family isn’t the same.   To quote Caroline Manzo from The Real Housewives of New Jersey (that’s right, I watch it) :  “Life is about change…  Sometimes you have to roll with the punches…”

So I’m actually (sorta) looking forward to meeting my new “friend”.    And gracefully accepting the help (and possibilities) that it offers.

 

Leave a Reply

