One Day A While Ago

I got a phone call on January 5th, 2005 that really explained a lot.   I found out that I had MS.   A few days prior I had an MRI to find out what was going on with my hearing.  I had noticed that I had started to lose hearing in my left ear.   I had such funky test results that the ear, nose and throat doctor scheduled an MRI.   I thought that was fine.   He was just doing his job and if there was something weird going on,  then we could get to the bottom of it.

My husband went with me to the MRI because I needed moral support.   I had an MRI seven years before (more on that at another time)  and I just did not like being put in the tube and not being able to move.   So,  I was nervous this time.

This time I went through the test (complete with contrast dye) and thought I had done real well.   I remember the technician walking me back to the waiting room saying “You’ll be hearing from the doctor in a couple of days.”

“She says that to everybody.”  I told myself.

Two days later at work,   I answered the phone and it was the ear, nose and throat doctor’s nurse,  saying that the doctor wanted to bump up my follow-up appointment.   I asked her did she have the test results and she said yes.    When I asked what the results were, she said the doctor would go over them with me at the visit.    I asked her to please tell me and she said that the suspected diagnosis was multiple sclerosis.   Then she read a bunch of technical stuff off the results that I did not understand then but that I would re-read many times over the next several days.

The first thing I could think of was to get to my husband and tell him in person.   I went to him at work.  I remember calling him on my way and when I drove up,  he was standing outside.   We both cried.  Then he went back into work and I went home.

So much for being ‘positive’.     All the positive stuff will come.   I’m sure of it.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Hi

    I remember when I was first diagnosed. It was quite frightening. But even more frightening was not knowing what was causing me to go blind. Not knowing meant that I couldn’t do anything about it.

    I have been living with MS now for over 15 years. For the past 5 I have been using fitness and nutrition to help me manage the disease. It took some time to find what worked best for me, but I think I am finally in a good place.

    I wish you all the best.

    susan@msathlete.org

    1. Thank you Susan! I am also struggling with diabetes and depression (a little, it varies). But I am working on taking better care of myself physically and mentally and I hope to get to the place where I can be the best that I can be. Thank you for the encouragement. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

